Rainy Argentine GP Sees Norris Win, First Point for Sauber


120Kevin MagnussenToyota1:12.4071:12.198
247Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:13.0541:12.277+0.079
388Robert KubicaROOKIE-Toyota1:12.5931:12.525+0.327
439Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota1:12.8211:12.599+0.401
594Pascal WehrleinToyota1:12.8801:12.646+0.448
618Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:12.8091:12.685+0.487
763George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes1:13.2141:12.759+0.561
857Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes1:13.4031:12.880+0.682
923Jules BianchiMRT-BMW1:12.9171:13.042+0.719
107Charles LeclercSauber-Toyota1:13.4991:12.918+0.720
1156Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1:13.4121:13.244+1.007
1255Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:14.5371:13.357+1.159
1333Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1:13.8441:13.360+1.162
1470Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1:13.5101:13.433+1.235
1560Ritomo MiyataSauber-Toyota1:15.0741:14.068+1.870
164Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1:14.2751:14.123+1.925
1726Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:14.8471:14.275+2.077
1881Malik ZidanLoonmotor-Judd1:14.7531:14.351+2.153
191Victoria DesaiFerrari1:14.4651:14.677+2.267
2095Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1:15.8501:15.306+3.108
2198Colton HertaAndretti-Ferrari1:16.3261:15.594+3.396
2210Alessio LorandiFerrari1:16.1301:16.025+3.827
2329Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:16.2621:16.225+4.027
2480Raven RothAndretti-Ferrari1:16.2261:16.501+4.028
2511Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1:17.2161:17.002+4.804
2621Théo PourchaireFAST-BMW1:17.9971:17.898+5.700


The wet conditions did not prevent the Formula One stars from putting on a great show.
Rain had already visited Formula One this season during qualifying for the Bahrain Grand Prix of all races, but so far Sundays have been dry in this year. Argentina changed that and gave fans the first wet race.

People who had been hoping for the wetness to slow down Caterham were in for a rude awakening. Lando Norris took the lead on the first lap under green and never looked back, reducing his distance to championship leader Vettel to 14 points.

However, behind the dominant Brit, a lot of excitement unfolded. In particular Mr. Excitement once more proved his name right by having a battle of legends with 2019 world champion Pastor Maldonado.

Despite the wet weather, only Ritomo Miyata retired because of a driver error. While other teams had their struggles, in particular the McEwans, all of the other five retirements were due to technical issues with both Toyota and Ferrari experiencing one motor failure.


147Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd74:21.524210
218Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd+19.72268
323Jules BianchiMRT-BMW+52.30996
439Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota1 Lap45
520Kevin MagnussenToyota1 Lap15
670Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1 Lap143
729Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap232
87Charles LeclercSauber-Toyota1 Lap101
933Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap13
1026Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1 Lap17
1110Alessio LorandiFerrari1 Lap22
1281Malik ZidanLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap18
1395Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap20
1463George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes1 Lap7
1557Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes1 Lap8
1698Colton HertaAndretti-Ferrari1 Lap21
174Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1 Lap16
1880Raven RothAndretti-Ferrari2 Laps24
1955Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes2 Laps12
2321Théo PourchaireFAST-BMW3 Laps26
Ret88Robert KubicaROOKIE-ToyotaWater Leak3
Ret56Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMWElectrical11
Ret94Pascal WehrleinToyotaMotor5
Ret11Terry HawkinFAST-BMWTransmission25
Ret60Ritomo MiyataSauber-ToyotaCollision 15
Ret1Victoria DesaiFerrariMotor19

Fastest Lap:

Lando Norris – 1:25.009

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Roger Ibe – overcame horrible qualifying to earn two points.

Reject Of The Race:

Ritomo Miyata – the only driver to crash out in the wet conditions, earning himself a penalty in the process.