Ferrari Dominate Hockenheim

127Ayrton SennaFerrari1:55:231
22Jeremy-Etienne VoecklerMcLaren-Honda1:55:553
328Alain ProstFerrari1:55:689
41Gerhard BergerMcLaren-Honda1:56:613
55Nigel MansellWilliams-Honda1:58:107
617Brendon CassidyArrows-Zakspeed1:59:070
718Chris DagnallArrows-Zakspeed1:59:157
86Kazuki FushidaWilliams-Honda2:00:276
94Jonathan PalmerTyrrell-Ford2:01:082
109Alessandro NanniniZakspeed2:01:121
113Martin BrundleTyrell-Ford2:01:293
1210Valentino NicchiZakspeed2:01:870
1322Stefano ModenaOsella2:02:205
1423Pierluigi MartiniMinardi-Ford2:02:412
1524Frederic-Maxime VoecklerMinardi-Ford2:02:538
1621Nicola LariniOsella2:02:581
1711Gillaume GauthierLotus-Ford2:03:242
1826Riccardo PatreseLigier-Ford2:03:707
1925Rene ArnouxLigier-Ford2:03:828
2012Derek WarwickLotus-Ford2:03:875
2120Michele AlboretoBenetton-Ford2:04:041
2229Harvey JonesLola-Ford2:04:081
2319Robert KaganBenetton-Ford2:04:331
2414Philippe StreiffAGS-Ford2:04:411
2515Alex CaffiAGS-Ford2:04:795
2630Isabella NorikoLola-Ford2:05:333
DNQ32Arsenio MatarazzoColoni-Ford2:06:169
DNQ31Roberto MorenoColoni-Ford2:06:754

Not even rain stopped Ferrari domination.

This weekend at Hockenheimring was sure gonna be new, for a multitude of reasons. Ferrari introduced a B-Spec car, F1 star Harvey Jones will make a comeback for Lola-Ford, and Osella will change the drivers from Oscar Laurrari to Stefano Modena.

All of those changes were on effect at track, with a rather wet surface qualifying, and the race being also held on damp conditions. Ferrari dominated the weekend, with the Ferrari F1-88B ultimately proving much better on track compared to the MP4-B. Jeremy-Etienne Voeckler was looking the most likely candidate to challenge Ferrari for the win, but due to a somewhat reckless move into the first chicane while trying to overtake Senna, he was out of the race in only the first lap. His relative Frederic-Maxime Voeckler proved no more lucky, retiring a few laps later after Patresse got way too eager in the last sector.

However, the crowning moment of idiocy must go to Gerhard Berger. While being close to Alain Prost, the ultimate winner of the race, he tried too hard on the lapped car of Palmer, spunning out after running out of room. This bitted him direly in the last part of the race, when he was unable to catch Ayrton Senna or Alain Prost.

On the underdogs, Osella proved far more capable than usual, with their powerful engine being used to good by Stefano Modena, who was running 12th before the transmission failure. Kazuki Fushida came again 7th, making you wonder whatever he will actually score points this season or not.

Pos#DriverTeam - EngineTime
1st28Alain ProstFerrari1h 31m 52.140
2nd27Ayrton SennaFerrari+4.840s
3rd1Gerhard BergerMcLaren - Honda+39.912s
4th5Nigel MansellWilliams - Honda+1m 49.088s
5th17Brendon CassidyArrows - Zakspeed-1 Lap
6th18Chris DagnallArrows - Zakspeed-1 Lap
7th6Kazuki FushidaWilliams - Honda-1 Lap
8th3Martin BrundleTyrrell - Ford-2 Laps
9th9Alessandro NanniniZakspeed-2 Laps
10th10Valentino NicchiZakspeed-2 Laps
11th23Pierluigi MartiniMinardi - Ford-2 Laps
12th11Guillaume GauthierLotus - Ford-2 Laps
13th21Nicola LariniOsella-2 Laps
14th12Derek WarwickLotus - Ford-3 Laps
15th25Rene ArnouxLigier - Judd-3 Laps
16th20Michele AlboretoBenetton - Ford-3 Laps
DNF4Jonathan PalmerTyrrell - FordEngine
DNF19Robert KaganBenetton - FordElectrical
DNF14Philippe StreiffAGS - FordTransmission
DNF30Isabella NorikoLola - FordBrakes
DNF15Alex CaffiAGS - FordEngine
DNF29Harvey JonesLola - FordTransmission
DNF22Stefano ModenaOsellaTransmission
DNF26Riccardo PatreseLigier - JuddDidn't Finish
DNF24Frederic Maxime VoecklerMinardi - FordDidn't Finish
DNF2Jeremy-Etienne VoecklerMcLaren - HondaDidn't Finish

Fastest Lap: Ayrton Senna – 2:00:169

Infinite Improbability Drive of the Race – Osella, showed top 10 pace through the weekend.

Reject of the Race – Gerhard Berger, rookie mistake takes him out of possible victory