Red Bull and Roger Ibe Back on Top in Cyprus


157Dean StonemanPrecision-Mercedes1:12.1931:11.823
294Pascal WehrleinPrecision-Mercedes1:12.0261:12.105+0.203
355Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:12.5431:12.303+0.480
44Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1:12.7321:12.527+0.704
520Kevin MagnussenToyota1:12.9451:12.687+0.864
61Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-Toyota1:12.9791:12.688+0.865
739Sho TsuboiBR Mansell-Toyota1:12.9441:13.398+1.121
877Valtteri BottasToyota1:13.1081:13.067+1.244
923Alexander AlbonFerrari1:13.1141:13.070+1.247
1029Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:13.5121:13.083+1.260
1137Victoria DesaiFerrari1:13.2191:13.118+1.295
1233Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1:13.4991:13.194+1.371
1347Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:13.6241:13.492+1.669
1426Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:13.7021:13.529+1.706
1570Sérgio Sette CâmaraWilliams-Ferrari1:13.7381:13.866+1.915
1631Esteban OconFAST-BMW1:14.6191:13.748+1.925
1718Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:14.5351:14.651+2.712
1884Jack AitkenSauber-Judd1:15.8111:14.997+3.175
1911Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1:15.1701:15.109+3.236
2023Jules BianchiMRT-BMW1:15.3661:15.163+3.340
2156Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1:15.2841:15.277+3.454
2295Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1:15.6131:15.438+3.615
237Charles LeclercSauber-Judd1:15.7841:15.980+3.961
2446Alessandro CicognaniLoonmotor-Judd1:15.8091:15.536+3.713*

* 5-place grid penalty for causing an avoidable accident


The new wider cars just emphasised how close racing at the Akrotiri Bay International Circuit can really be.
In the world of motorsport, few tracks are as uniquely enjoyable as the Akrotiri Bay International Circuit: high-speed action with the right edge to keep every proper Formula One fan on their toes; few fans say they do not like this venue.

With the radical differences in motor design, there was bound to be a tiered level of performance. Mercedes in particularly turned celebration on Friday and Saturday into misery on Sunday, lacking competitiveness.

The real fight for the big points was between Toyota and Ferrari. While the Ferrari works team failed to earn any, Roger Ibe was able to get a second win. Both a customer and works Toyota joined him on the rostrum.

Backmarkers took advantage of the chaos. Jack Aitken came out of nowhere on Saturday to outqualify his teammate and then took a seventh place on Sunday, putting his team ahead of Loonmotor despite their double score.


129Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari42:14.95515
21Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-Toyota+7.01812
320Kevin MagnussenToyota+18.22810
418Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd+21.3058
539Sho TsuboiMansell-Mercedes+21.9536
670Sérgio Sette CâmaraWilliams-Ferrari+43.1645
785Jack AitkenSauber-Judd+68.1354
814Esteban OconFAST-BMW+106.3643
995Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap2
1046Alessandro CicognaniLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap1
1137Victoria DesaiFerrari1 Lap
1233Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap
1377Valtteri BottasToyota1 Lap
1494Pascal WehrleinPrecision-Mercedes1 Lap
154Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes2 Laps
DNF47Lando NorrisCaterham-JuddTransmission
DNF55Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-MercedesTransmission
DNF26Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-FerrariTransmission
DNF23Jules BianchiMRT-BMWTransmission
DNF11Terry HawkinFAST-BMWMotor
DNF57Dean StonemanPrecision-MercedesOil Leak
DNF23Alexander AlbonFerrariOil Leak
DNF7Charles LeclercSauber-JuddTransmission
DNF56Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMWCollision

Fastest Lap:

Max Verstappen – 1:41.873

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Jack Aitken – a seventh place in the Sauber is a tremendous feat, regardless of how much luck played into it.

Reject Of The Race:

Ferrari – retirements both in and out of their drivers’ control as well as numerous transmission failures are not good for the prancing horse.