Pastor Maldonado Wins Hungarian Grand Prix, First 2022 Podium for Precision


157Dean StonemanPrecision-Mercedes1:24.5301:24.265
263George RussellPrecision-Mercedes1:24.7631:26.484+0.498
323Alexander AlbonFerrari1:27.0831:26.796+2.531
41Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-Toyota1:26.0361:27.112+2.771
537Victoria DesaiFerrari1:27.1931:27.118+2.853
639Sho TsuboiBR Mansell-Toyota1:27.2361:27.166+2.901
770Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1:27.3901:27.190+2.925
833Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1:27.2731:27.583+3.008
918Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:27.4101:27.279+3.014
1029Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:27.5921:27.363+3.098
1147Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:27.9451:27.603+3.338
1226Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:27.6841:27.921+3.419
1320Kevin MagnussenToyota1:27.9121:27.880+3.615
1477Valtteri BottasToyota1:28.2901:27.889+3.624
154Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1:28.8861:28.515+4.250
1655Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:29.3761:28.837+4.572
1731Esteban OconFAST-BMW1:29.1161:29.289+4.851
1895Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1:29.8101:29.603+5.338
1911Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1:29.8031:29.796+5.531
2023Jules BianchiMRT-BMW1:30.3711:30.160+5.895
2156Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1:30.9911:30.569+6.304
2246Alessandro CicognaniLoonmotor-Judd1:31.2861:31.081+6.816
237Charles LeclercSauber-Judd1:32.3711:32.704+8.106
2484Jack AitkenSauber-Judd1:33.4401:33.243+8.978


Turn 12 saw a lot of passing, said passes often coming at the expense of Artem Markelov.
As the new aerodynamic regulations came with the promise of increasing overtaking and making the racing better, many saw the Hungaroring as the essential test for this idea. Last year’s Hungarian Grand Prix was an exciting classic.

The race certainly delivered on its promise, we had excitement from the pointy end of the field down to the very backmarkers both at the beginning of the race and near the end of it. Fans certainly went home happy.

Overtaking proved essential, as Pastor Maldonado won the Hungarian Grand Prix by being the first to make a successful pass against Artem Markelov. The Venezuelan driver inherited the lead from Albon after the Ferrari driver retired.

Speaking of Ferrari, they suffered a double retirement that may have ruined their title hopes. Sho Tsuboi and Roger Ibe at least finished, but got nothing out of it after they received penalties for crashing with other drivers.


170Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari65:49.23515
257Dean StonemanPrecision-Mercedes+15.26912
318Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd+16.40110
41Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-Toyota+18.0358
533Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari+21.0486
647Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+31.3535
726Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari+34.3594
863George RussellPrecision-Mercedes+47.0313
920Kevin MagnussenToyota+72.8252
1077Valtteri BottasToyota+74.4121
1139Sho TsuboiMansell-Mercedes+55.950*
1229Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari+55.357**
1314Esteban OconFAST-BMW1 Lap
1495Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap
1511Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1 Lap
1656Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1 Lap
177Charles LeclercSauber-Judd2 Laps
184Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes2 Laps
1955Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes2 Laps
2085Jack AitkenSauber-Judd2 Laps
DNF23Alexander AlbonFerrariTransmission
DNF23Jules BianchiMRT-BMWPuncture
DNF46Alessandro CicognaniLoonmotor-JuddTransmission
DNF37Victoria DesaiFerrariLoose Wheel

* 20-second penalty for causing an avoidable accident
** 30-second penalty for causing an avoidable accident

Fastest Lap:

Pastor Maldonado – 1:29.652

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Dean Stoneman – Precision is still alive and can still get podiums.

Reject Of The Race:

Roger Ibe – hitting a backmarker after being placed at the back by a driver hitting you takes a special kind of insipidity.