Norris Takes Back-to-Back Wins, Both MRTs and Toyotas in the Points


188Robert KubicaROOKIE-Toyota1:16.7511:16.245
239Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota1:16.5811:16.361+0.116
347Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:17.1441:17.336+0.899
418Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:17.3301:17.218+0.973
594Pascal WehrleinToyota1:17.6441:17.482+1.237
620Kevin MagnussenToyota1:17.7041:17.531+1.286
77Charles LeclercSauber-Toyota1:17.8161:17.610+1.365
857Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes1:17.7211:19.755+1.476
923Jules BianchiMRT-BMW1:19.5821:17.795+1.550
1056Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1:18.1361:17.950+1.705
1160Ritomo MiyataSauber-Toyota1:18.4011:17.983+1.738
1263George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes1:18.1871:18.295+1.942
131Victoria DesaiFerrari1:18.5331:18.257+2.012
1455Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:18.7551:18.574+2.329
1510Alessio LorandiFerrari1:18.7171:18.605+2.360
164Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1:18.7551:18.684+2.439
1726Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:18.9561:19.320+2.711
1870Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1:19.1111:18.999+2.754
1929Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:19.5351:19.382+2.954
2033Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1:19.5371:19.541+3.292
2180Raven RothAndretti-Ferrari1:20.3051:19.999+3.754
2298Colton HertaAndretti-Ferrari1:20.0771:20.193+3.832
2395Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1:20.3251:20.151+3.906
2481Malik ZidanLoonmotor-Judd1:20.2381:20.156+3.911
2511Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1:21.9581:21.475+5.230
2621Théo PourchaireFAST-BMW1:22.2041:22.285+5.959


Jules Bianchi passing the two ROOKIE Racing cars proved to be one of the very few entertaining elements of the race.
Regrettably, after five exciting Grands Prix in a row, it was inevitable that a more down-to-earth race would come and it was the III Marlboro Pilipinas Grand Prix that proved to be that race. While there were some fun moments, generally speaking it was not a race for the history books.

After the two Caterhams managed to make their ways to the front, Sebastian Vettel was leading for most of the race – however, just when Lando Norris was getting closer, a loose wheel ended Vettel’s afternoon and reduced his championship lead to seven points.

Behind winner Lando Norris, Jules Bianchi fought his way past the two ROOKIE Racing cars to earn his first points since April with a second place. Despite Tsuboi’s third place, MRT is now 20 points ahead of ROOKIE Racing in the constructors championship.

This was helped by MRT getting both cars into the points for the first time since the Bahrain Grand Prix. Another team not experiencing major issues was Toyota, both Kevin Magnussen and Pascal Wehrlein got points – in Toyota’s case, it’s the first time since the season opener.


147Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd58:03.493310
223Jules BianchiMRT-BMW+22.25798
339Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota+37.67826
456Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW+40.300105
51Victoria DesaiFerrari+50.435134
694Pascal WehrleinToyota1 Lap53
720Kevin MagnussenToyota1 Lap62
857Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes1 Lap81
97Charles LeclercSauber-Toyota1 Lap7
1033Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap20
1126Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1 Lap17
1270Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1 Lap18
1329Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap19
1463George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes1 Lap12
1598Colton HertaAndretti-Ferrari1 Lap22
1695Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap23
1755Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1 Lap14
1811Terry HawkinFAST-BMW2 Laps25
1921Théo PourchaireFAST-BMW2 Laps26
2081Malik ZidanLoonmotor-JuddMotor24
Ret4Robin FrijnsDawson-MercedesTransmission14
Ret18Sebastian VettelCaterham-JuddLoose Wheel4
Ret88Robert KubicaROOKIE-ToyotaMotor11
Ret10Alessio LorandiFerrariMotor15
Ret60Ritomo MiyataSauber-ToyotaTransmission11
Ret80Raven RothAndretti-FerrariMotor21

Fastest Lap:

Sebastian Vettel – 1:19.219

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Théo Pourchaire – while you could argue the point of unlapping yourself against strong opposition, it was quite fun to watch.

Reject Of The Race:

Loonmotor-Judd – the positive momentum of the last race was nowhere to be found here.