First Win in 2023 for Lando Norris, First Points for Pastor Maldonado


147Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:14.8211:12.967
218Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:13.4701:13.685+0.503
356Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1:14.2061:14.276+1.239
423Jules BianchiMRT-BMW1:14.5431:14.431+1.464
539Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota1:15.0741:14.664+1.697
620Kevin MagnussenToyota1:15.0171:15.616+2.050
788Robert KubicaROOKIE-Toyota1:15.2031:15.201+2.234
829Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:15.9091:15.705+2.738
994Pascal WehrleinToyota1:15.7071:15.857+2.740
101Victoria DesaiFerrari1:16.4051:15.901+2.934
117Charles LeclercSauber-Toyota1:15.9781:15.905+2.938
1270Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1:16.0551:16.404+3.008
1333Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1:16.8111:16.136+3.169
1460Ritomo MiyataSauber-Toyota1:16.1741:16.377+3.207
1557Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes1:16.5501:16.297+3.330
1663George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes1:16.8141:16.440+3.473
1726Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:16.4721:16.449+3.482
1810Alessio LorandiFerrari1:16.8951:16.558+3.591
1981Malik ZidanLoonmotor-Judd1:17.2081:16.833+3.866
2055Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:17.5831:17.371+4.404
214Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1:17.6441:17.419+4.452
2295Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1:17.6851:17.685+4.718
2380Raven RothAndretti-Ferrari1:18.6301:18.411+5.444
2498Colton HertaAndretti-Ferrari1:18.5711:18.647+5.604
2511Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1:19.5911:19.456+6.489
2621Théo PourchaireFAST-BMW1:21.1971:21.120+8.153


Sebastian Vettel's first error of the season did not stop him from taking a podium finish.
For the eighteenth time, Formula One returned to the Indian subcontinent. With the nation set to become the most populated country on the planet in the near future, many (potential) Formula 1 fans were eager to welcome the stars of racing.

As was established in the previous two Grands Prix, Caterham are the class of the field. Even Sebastian Vettel’s silly error that forced him nearly to the back of the field could not change that, he would work his way back up to third eventually.

As Lando Norris was left to take an uncontested hat-trick, other drivers also had their moment in the light. Pastor Maldonado scored the first top 5 finish for Williams in 2023 with a good drive and MRT once again got a second-place finish, Red Bull again managed to have both cars in the points.

Where there is light, there is darkness and nothing represents darkness in Formula One right now as much as Fernando Alonso’s team. Terry Hawkin made negative headlines by randomly stopping on the track, possibly to express his frustration with the FA-05.


147Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd65:13.700111
256Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW+45.51038
318Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1 Lap26
420Kevin MagnussenToyota1 Lap65
570Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1 Lap124
633Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap133
729Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari2 Laps82
839Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota2 Laps51
91Victoria DesaiFerrari2 Laps10
1010Alessio LorandiFerrari2 Laps18
1126Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari2 Laps17
1281Malik ZidanLoonmotor-Judd2 Laps19
1360Ritomo MiyataSauber-Toyota2 Laps14
1495Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd2 Laps22
1563George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes3 Laps16
167Charles LeclercSauber-Toyota3 Laps11
1780Raven RothAndretti-Ferrari3 Laps23
184Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes3 Laps21
1955Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes3 Laps20
2057Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes3 Laps15
2198Colton HertaAndretti-Ferrari3 Laps24
2211Terry HawkinFAST-BMW4 Laps25
2321Théo PourchaireFAST-BMW5 Laps26
Ret88Robert KubicaROOKIE-ToyotaElectrical7
Ret94Pascal WehrleinToyotaTransmission9
Ret23Jules BianchiMRT-BMWMotor4

Fastest Lap:

Lando Norris – 1:15.117

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Pastor Maldonado – the first points for Williams in 2023 came in a great drive.

Reject Of The Race:

Terry Hawkin – weird protest drew controversy in the sporting world.