Alexander Albon Wins First Race in Chaotic Argentine Grand Prix


157Dean StonemanPrecision-Mercedes1:17.5141:17.302
294Pascal WehrleinPrecision-Mercedes1:17.8231:17.500+0.198
329Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:18.2951:18.340+0.993
41Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-Toyota1:18.5101:18.376+1.074
537Victoria DesaiFerrari1:18.6721:18.455+1.153
623Alexander AlbonFerrari1:18.4881:18.459+1.157
747Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:18.9091:18.574+1.272
833Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1:18.7021:18.578+1.276
926Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:19.1381:18.659+1.357
1018Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:18.9351:19.052+1.633
1177Valtteri BottasToyota1:19.4791:18.943+1.641
1239Sho TsuboiBR Mansell-Toyota1:19.0471:19.475+1.745
1320Kevin MagnussenToyota1:19.1381:19.098+1.796
1470Sérgio Sette CâmaraWilliams-Ferrari1:19.6201:19.244+1.942
1531Esteban OconFAST-BMW1:20.2141:20.963+2.912
1611Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1:20.6101:20.323+3.021
1723Jules BianchiMRT-BMW1:20.8801:20.656+3.354
1855Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:20.8291:20.801+3.499
194Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1:21.0911:21.244+3.789
2056Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1:21.7911:21.165+3.863
2195Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1:22.0881:21.839+4.537
2246Alessandro CicognaniLoonmotor-Judd1:22.4161:22.120+4.818
237Charles LeclercSauber-Judd1:22.5171:22.519+5.215
2484Jack AitkenSauber-Judd1:23.1931:23.405+5.891


The hydrogen fuel cell systems just could not withstand the punishment dished out by the Autódromo Roberto José Mouras; only a dozen drivers finished the race.
A few experts predicted that the new fuel cell regulations would prove troublesome as the different materials and built concepts would prove challenging, as their demands would cause cars to fail to finish. These experts can smugly point to this Grand Prix.

All in all, a baker’s dozen were not able to finish the race. The supermajority of those drivers suffered motor and transmission failures with only Judd avoiding motor failures; of course this meant that the drivers who did not suffer those problems had unexpected chances.

Ten of the classified thirteen drivers had their season-best finish, including first-time Formula One winner Alexander Albon who took Ferrari’s first win in almost four years. Lando Norris was the favourite for the victory until he hurt himself with another driver mistake, but at least he got his first podium finish of the year.

Backmarkers were rubbing their hands in glee, as points were handed out in large amounts: MRT, Loonmotor and Sauber were all able to score points, which should be very important in their battle against Dawson to avoid the dreaded last position.


123Alexander AlbonFerrari60:33.27315
226Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari+3.26612
347Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+4.90110
418Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd+27.8938
514Esteban OconFAST-BMW+62.0606
637Victoria DesaiFerrari+75.6255
756Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1 Lap4
894Pascal WehrleinPrecision-Mercedes1 Lap3
946Alessandro CicognaniLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap2
107Charles LeclercSauber-Judd2 Laps1
1185Jack AitkenSauber-Judd2 Laps
124Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes3 Laps
1377Valtteri BottasToyotaMotor
DNF1Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-ToyotaMotor
DNF70Sérgio Sette CâmaraWilliams-FerrariMotor
DNF29Roger IbeRed Bull-FerrariTransmission
DNF33Max VerstappenRed Bull-FerrariTransmission
DNF55Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-MercedesMotor
DNF20Kevin MagnussenToyotaCollision
DNF23Jules BianchiMRT-BMWTransmission
DNF57Dean StonemanPrecision-MercedesMotor
DNF39Sho TsuboiMansell-MercedesTransmission
DNF11Terry HawkinFAST-BMWMotor
DNF95Beitske VisserLoonmotor-JuddTransmission

Fastest Lap:

Lando Norris – 1:19.865

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Alessandro Cicognani – the ultimate underdog has scored Loonmotor’s first points.

Reject Of The Race:

Jack Aitken – behaviour unbecoming of a backmarker sees him earn the wrath of Toyota and the stewards.