Fabian Rei Takes Slim Pole Position in Abu Dhabi

Fabian Rei gave Gerald Pereria Racing their first pole position of the 2018 GT Super Series season at the Yas Marina Circuit.

Rei would get the pole position over Russian Evgeny Restov in a BMS Ferrari, putting in a time that was only fourteen hundredths faster than what was set by the Factory Ferrari driver. They would be only drivers to break into the Two Minute, Five Second barrier with third place starter Joey Alliot being a further four tenths behind the front row starters. Fabian Rei would continue his strong qualifying form to start the year, after having a front row starting position in Brazil two weeks ago.

Starting alongside Alliot on the second row would be runner-up in Brazil Chris Winter, putting in a time that was fourteen hundredths slower than what Alliot did in the Carson Speedworks Corvette. The three podium finishers from Brazil will start fourth, fifth and sixth respectively with Matteo Rossi putting in the fifth fastest time in the Qualifying Session. The top seven qualifying positions would be held by Manufactures Trophy entries, with Morgan Le Fay and Denis van Walwijk completing the group of seven.

Behind the lead group of Manufacture Trophy cars, would be the first pair of Independent Trophy cars of Nathan Scott’s Minarae Ferrari and Simon Mestach’s Best In The World Lamborghini. A major turnaround for the early favorites in the Minarae squad, after struggling out of the box at Interlagos had the Northern Irishman putting in a time two tenths clear of Mestach, and five tenths clear of Gia Van Dycke in another Independent Ferrari 550 Maranello. Independent Class winner from Brazil Darren Older Jr. starts directly behind Van Dycke in fourteenth.

Qualifying Results – Yas Supercar Festival

114MFabian ReiGerald Pereria2:05.836
228MEvgeny RestovScuderia Italia+0.014
363MJoey AlliotCarson+0.402
402MChris WinterSolvalou+0.416
56MMatteo RossiGulf+0.503
603MMorgan Le FaySolvalou+0.576
727MDenis van WalwijkScuderia Italia+0.627
877INathan ScottMinarae+0.672
911ISimon MestachBest In The World+0.886
1024MAmato AgostiniPagani+0.990
1141MPaul TravesenGerald Pereria+1.008
1225MAnton RobishaudPagani+1.048
1321IGia Van DyckeBelgio+1.132
1456IDarren Older Jr.Commonwealth+1.200
1564MLi QiCarson+1.223
1631ISam WintonWinton+1.244
1799IDaniel EinfeldtPeople's Republic+1.273
1896IHailon FidelisBest In The World+1.309
1988IHarrison WilkinsonLKM+1.369
20555IAntonio Reyna-SanchezTom Douglas+1.389
2145IHelena BertinelliEuromotor+1.429
2255IJames DouglasTom Douglas+1.490
232IAkinori KikkawaBoutsen Ginion+1.570
2430IPaul JenkinsGlobex Scorpio+1.627
2544IDiego VercuisseEuromotor+1.701
2632IKjeld AxelsenRMR+1.831
273IMelanie BourneBoutsen Ginion+1.842
28007MJohn MagnusFalken+1.973
2961IFederico NavarroFulcrum+2.103
3009IAlexi MelvanovChris Short+2.853