Third Victory in a Row for Norris in Formula One’s Return to Paul Ricard


188Robert KubicaROOKIE-Toyota1:35.0431:34.636
239Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota1:34.8761:34.754+0.118
347Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:36.7491:36.049+1.413
420Kevin MagnussenToyota1:36.5051:36.745+1.869
523Jules BianchiMRT-BMW1:36.8341:36.517+1.881
618Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:36.7691:36.555+1.919
757Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes1:36.5941:36.768+1.958
87Charles LeclercSauber-Toyota1:36.7211:36.645+2.009
994Pascal WehrleinToyota1:36.9141:36.677+2.041
1063George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes1:36.8751:36.812+2.176
1156Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1:37.0131:37.006+2.370
1260Ritomo MiyataSauber-Toyota1:37.3811:37.174+2.538
131Victoria DesaiFerrari1:37.9741:37.603+2.967
1455Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:38.1501:37.883+3.247
154Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1:38.0111:38.351+3.375
1610Alessio LorandiFerrari1:38.5121:38.729+3.876
1770Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1:38.8111:38.605+3.969
1826Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:38.8071:38.716+4.080
1929Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:39.7241:39.381+4.745
2033Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1:39.7611:39.560+4.924
2181Malik ZidanLoonmotor-Judd1:39.8111:39.882+5.175
2295Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1:40.2941:40.054+5.418
2380Raven RothAndretti-Ferrari1:40.8801:40.689+6.053
2498Colton HertaAndretti-Ferrari1:40.9241:40.798+6.162
2511Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1:42.2791:41.844+7.208
2621Théo PourchaireFAST-BMW1:43.0181:42.408+7.772


While Pastor Maldonado robbed him of his reward, Dean Stoneman had a great race in F1's return to Paul Ricard.
As is well known, FIA president Alekos Kalogeropoulos is an enjoyer of all things Formula One history. It was thereby pretty predictable that Formula One would return to such a classic venue as Circuit Paul Ricard.

By all accounts, this nostalgic event was a huge success. The last winner of a Formula One race at Paul Ricard, Ayrton Senna, made one of his extremely rare F1 appearances and got to see an exciting race.

In particular the first half featured a lot of passing moves, but the second half still had a lot of thrilling narratives: Jules Bianchi fighting off Sebastian Vettel and Pastor Maldonado charging towards the points.

In the end, Lando Norris controlled proceedings to take his fifth win of the season, ahead of hometown hero Bianchi and Vettel. Ferrari got both of their cars in the points for the third time in five races as well.


147Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd54:02.745310
223Jules BianchiMRT-BMW+6.34758
318Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd+8.75266
439Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota+34.68725
51Victoria DesaiFerrari+41.627134
610Alessio LorandiFerrari+72.251163
720Kevin MagnussenToyota+90.02842
870Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari+92.268171
957Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes+96.7937
107Charles LeclercSauber-Toyota+100.0788
1194Pascal WehrleinToyota1 Lap9
1263George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes1 Lap10
1326Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1 Lap18
1433Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap20
1560Ritomo MiyataSauber-Toyota1 Lap12
1681Malik ZidanLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap21
1795Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap22
1855Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1 Lap14
194Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1 Lap15
2080Raven RothAndretti-Ferrari1 Lap23
Ret29Roger IbeRed Bull-FerrariMotor19
Ret88Robert KubicaROOKIE-ToyotaMotor11
Ret56Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMWMotor11
Ret21Théo PourchaireFAST-BMWMotor26
Ret98Colton HertaAndretti-FerrariSuspension24
Ret11Terry HawkinFAST-BMWLoose Wheel25

Fastest Lap:

Lando Norris – 1:38.989

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Dean Stoneman – he came within a few laps of points for McEwan and generally performed brilliantly.

Reject Of The Race:

FAST-BMW – even ignoring their usually bad pace, a poorly-fitted tyre and a motor explosion are not a good look.