Motor Failures Decide World Championships in China


157Dean StonemanPrecision-Mercedes1:47.2071:46.408
263George RussellPrecision-Mercedes1:47.8101:47.217+0.809
31Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-Toyota1:48.9181:49.308+2.900
423Alexander AlbonFerrari1:46.7701:49.642+3.234
518Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:49.6591:50.477+3.251
639Sho TsuboiBR Mansell-Toyota1:50.1851:49.685+3.277
777Valtteri BottasToyota1:50.3871:49.755+3.367
837Victoria DesaiFerrari1:54.3861:49.995+3.587
929Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:50.3121:52.201+3.904
1047Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:50.7541:50.509+4.101
1126Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:52.3191:50.664+4.256
1270Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1:50.8151:50.701+4.293
1320Kevin MagnussenToyota1:54.8191:50.819+4.411
1433Mick SchumacherRed Bull-Ferrari1:51.4171:51.169+4.761
154Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1:51.3241:51.592+4.916
1655Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:53.2711:52.002+5.594
1711Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1:52.4011:52.095+5.687
1831Esteban OconFAST-BMW1:53.2891:52.173+5.765
1923Jules BianchiMRT-BMW1:53.3611:52.175+5.767
2095Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1:53.6381:53.012+6.882
2156Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1:53.7101:53.135+6.679
2246Alessandro CicognaniLoonmotor-Judd1:54.7061:53.438+7.265
237Charles LeclercSauber-Judd1:54.8311:55.522+8.432
2484Jack AitkenSauber-Judd1:55.8461:55.452+9.044


Sebastian Vettel saw his hopes of a third world title literally go up in smoke in his only retirement of the season.
The pressure on the shoulders of Victoria Desai coming into the season finale must have been compatible to that of a neutron star. Finishing ahead of Sebastian Vettel would have made her the first Indian, the first woman, the first Ferrari driver since 2013 and the first rookie since Daniel Ricciardo to win the World Driver’s Championship.

Despite that pressure showing with a relatively poor qualifying outing, she made her way to the front in the race and was set to take the crown even before her title rival suffered the first motor failure of his season that ended any chance of him becoming a three-times champion.

Unfortunately, Ferrari’s celebrations were slightly marred as they could not secure the constructor’s title. Four Ferrari motors blew up throughout the entire race, first Albon’s, then the debuting Mick Schumacher’s and lastly the final race of Desai’s first season in Formula One ended the same way.

Roger Ibe was the fourth victim, but his misfortune arrived on the final lap, so he was able to rescue his car over the line. Still, it allowed Artem Markelov to close out his last race wearing number 1 in first place. Precision and Toyota also profited from the chaos to score both with both cars, the second time this happened all season.


11Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-Toyota59:39.92415
229Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari+3.14112
347Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+6.88010
470Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari+31.2448
563George RussellPrecision-Mercedes+31.9916
657Dean StonemanPrecision-Mercedes+38.1145
720Kevin MagnussenToyota+40.5774
839Sho TsuboiMansell-Mercedes+43.9633
977Valtteri BottasToyota+46.5452
1011Terry HawkinFAST-BMW+55.5301
1114Esteban OconFAST-BMW+75.479
1295Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd+115.911
1327Jules BianchiMRT-BMW1 Lap
1457Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1 Lap
1546Alessandro CicognaniLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap
167Charles LeclercSauber-Judd1 Lap
1785Jack AitkenSauber-Judd1 Lap
1855Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1 Lap
194Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes2 Laps
DNF37Victoria DesaiFerrariMotor
DNF33Mick SchumacherRed Bull-FerrariMotor
DNF23Alexander AlbonFerrariMotor
DNF18Sebastian VettelCaterham-JuddMotor
DNF26Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-FerrariTransmission

Fastest Lap:

Victoria Desai – 1:43.110

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Artem Markelov – one final victory to make up for a disappointing title defense.

Reject Of The Race:

Ferrari – their poor reliability cost them the constructor’s crown and it took breathtaking good luck to not lose the other title as well.