Markelov Chokes in Abu Dhabi, Stoneman Wins


118Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:40.2661:40.085
26Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-Toyota1:40.5811:40.147+0.062
347Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:40.5481:40.221+0.136
494Pascal WehrleinPrecision-Mercedes1:40.3221:40.541+0.237
557Dean StonemanPrecision-Mercedes1:40.7981:40.386+0.301
639Sho TsuboiBR Mansell-Toyota1:40.7241:40.400+0.315
77Charles LeclercFAST-Mercedes1:40.9981:40.821+0.736
823Alexander AlbonFerrari1:41.2131:40.867+0.782
931Esteban OconFAST-Mercedes1:40.9531:41.220+0.868
1026Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:41.5261:41.279+1.194
1133Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1:41.7491:41.295+1.210
1229Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:41.7031:41.393+1.308
1377Valtteri BottasToyota1:41.5511:41.626+1.466
1437Kazuki NakajimaToyota1:42.1301:41.803+1.718
1570Sérgio Sette CâmaraWilliams-Ferrari1:42.4861:42.000+1.915
1613Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd1:42.3131:42.091+2.006
1784Jack AitkenSauber-Judd1:42.6071:42.436+2.351
1855Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:44.5421:44.102+4.017
1923Jules BianchiCalinetic-Judd1:45.1711:44.328+4.243
204Robin FrijnsLoonmotor-Judd1:45.0501:44.807+4.722
2156Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-Judd1:45.4991:45.006+4.921
2299Antonio GiovinazziDawson-Mercedes1:45.2861:45.202+5.117
2398Bradley DagnallLoonmotor-Judd1:46.2131:45.899+5.814
2410Jarno TrulliFerrari1:46.9161:47.363+6.831


Will this be the moment that comes to define Markelov's 2021 season, the moment he had everything and just threw it away?
Regardless of what happens in the next two weeks, Precision’s in-season development was historic, only surpassed by the great work at (BMW) Sauber in 2009 and 2012. Still, they have a shot at the driver’s title.

Another 1-2 finish almost opened the door, but an error would be needed to truly unlock the mechanism. Artem Markelov made that mistake, running out of track at the first chicane and crashing into the wall.

Beyond this shocking twist in the championship tale, there were other stories worth telling: Sho Tsuboi had his best result since Portland and both Williams and Toyota managed to put both of their cars in the top 10.

Pastor Maldonado came close to a point himself, but without it, it is all but confirmed that Sauber will finish this year in P9. That will be their worst result since 2010 (as BMW Sauber, 2005 as independent team).


157Dean StonemanPrecision-Mercedes60:12.37615
294Pascal WehrleinPrecision-Mercedes+0.42412
347Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+9.32410
439Sho TsuboiMansell-Mercedes+17.9018
57Charles LeclercFAST-Mercedes+19.4846
623Alexander AlbonFerrari+30.9725
726Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari+34.8224
877Valtteri BottasToyota+47.0483
937Kazuki NakajimaToyota+48.5412
1070Sérgio Sette CâmaraWilliams-Ferrari+55.5691
1113Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd+74.048
1229Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari+95.217
1385Jack AitkenSauber-Judd+99.697
1455Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1 Lap
1519Robin FrijnsLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap
1699Antonio GiovinazziDawson-Judd1 Lap
1723Jules BianchiCalinetic-Judd1 Lap
1818Sebastian VettelCaterham-JuddAccident
196Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-ToyotaAccident
DNF33Max VerstappenRed Bull-FerrariAccident
DNF10Jarno TrulliFerrariAccident
DNF98Bradley DagnallLoonmotor-JuddCollision
DNF14Esteban OconFAST-MercedesCollision
DNF56Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-JuddCollision

Fastest Lap:

Pascal Wehrlein – 1:42.841

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Toyota – a great outing sees the Japanese manufacturer score their second double-points finish of the year.

Reject Of The Race:

Artem Markelov – driver error at the worst possible time may just have Markelov cost the world title.