Good Fortune Gives Sebastian Vettel Victory at Spa-Francorchamps


139Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota1:52.8161:46.858
288Robert KubicaROOKIE-Toyota1:52.9911:47.181+0.323
347Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:53.1041:47.960+1.102
418Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:53.4311:48.493+1.635
556Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1:53.7211:48.535+1.913
694Pascal WehrleinToyota1:53.1191:48.771+1.917
720Kevin MagnussenToyota1:53.9241:48.775+1.921
823Jules BianchiMRT-BMW1:53.9621:48.898+2.040
963George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes1:54.7841:49.106+2.248
1057Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes1:53.3261:49.160+2.302
117Charles LeclercSauber-Toyota1:54.4881:49.594+2.836
1233Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1:54.5051:50.280+3.422
1329Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:55.7521:50.366+3.508
141Victoria DesaiFerrari1:55.1171:50.528+3.670
1555Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:55.9681:50.613+3.755
164Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1:55.0381:50.691+3.833
1726Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:55.8301:50.814+3.956
1870Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1:56.4171:51.143+4.285
1910Alessio LorandiFerrari1:56.0641:51.548+4.690
2095Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1:57.4811:51.800+4.942
2181Malik ZidanLoonmotor-Judd1:57.7151:52.566+5.708
2280Raven RothAndretti-Ferrari1:58.6191:53.066+6.208
2360Ritomo MiyataSauber-Toyota1:56.7211:50.317+3.459*
2498Colton HertaAndretti-Ferrari1:58.4351:53.337+6.479
2511Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1:59.2781:54.450+7.592
2621Théo PourchaireFAST-BMW1:59.9411:54.796+7.938

* 10-place grid penalty for causing an avoidable accident


Sho Tsuboi came close to ending Caterham's winning streak, but misfortune prevented him from glory.
The nostalgia choice to move the Belgian Grand Prix to the start of the season was questioned by some, as the temperatures would be rather low. These fears proved correct, as air temperatures never reached the double digits during the weekend.

However, that proved to be the best thing that could have happened to Formula One. Apparently, the CT11’s weakness is performing at low temperatures: Caterham were very vulnerable and only won through bad luck for Sho Tsuboi.

Unlike the Caterhams, Roger Ibe had an easy time overtaking. “Mr. Excitement” once more proved worthy of his name, as he went by two drivers at the Bus Stop chicane. Luck flushed him to third, but with that drive, nobody begrudged him for it.

MRT did not have a good time in Spa, a technical issue for Bianchi prevented the team to score a podium for the first time this season. A team that finally added a point to their WCC total was Sauber, Charles Leclerc fighting off three rivals to bring P8 home.


118Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd52:47.214410
239Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota+36.11519
329Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari+41.124136
423Jules BianchiMRT-BMW+48.31185
594Pascal WehrleinToyota+65.11964
61Victoria DesaiFerrari+71.373143
747Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+74.02232
87Charles LeclercSauber-Toyota+85.386111
957Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes+86.09410
1063George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes+87.0689
1120Kevin MagnussenToyota+88.1207
1210Alessio LorandiFerrari+94.38419
1370Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari+106.90918
1480Raven RothAndretti-Ferrari1 Lap22
1595Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap20
1626Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1 Lap17
1711Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1 Lap25
1821Théo PourchaireFAST-BMW3 Laps26
1933Max VerstappenRed Bull-FerrariLoose Wheel12
Ret60Ritomo MiyataSauber-ToyotaTransmission23
Ret81Malik ZidanLoonmotor-JuddPuncture21
Ret55Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-MercedesTransmission15
Ret4Robin FrijnsDawson-MercedesWater Leak4
Ret88Robert KubicaROOKIE-ToyotaPuncture2
Ret98Colton HertaAndretti-FerrariTransmission24
Ret56Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMWOil Leak5

Fastest Lap:

Jules Bianchi – 1:52.088

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Raven Roth – brilliant defensive driving against the winner of the last two Grands Prix.

Reject Of The Race:

Lando Norris – yet another driver error cost him, working his way back up the order was hard.