First-Lap Contact Between Wehrlein and Norris Decides Hungarian Grand Prix, Vettel Wins


188Robert KubicaROOKIE-Toyota1:22.7651:22.433
247Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:23.0791:23.360+0.646
339Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota1:23.2371:23.194+0.761
418Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:23.3181:23.636+0.885
523Jules BianchiMRT-BMW1:24.3571:24.120+1.687
656Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMW1:24.3221:24.614+1.889
720Kevin MagnussenToyota1:24.3481:24.539+1.915
894Pascal WehrleinToyota1:24.7631:24.590+2.157
97Charles LeclercSauber-Toyota1:24.8681:26.011+2.435
1063George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes1:25.4291:25.152+2.719
1110Alessio LorandiFerrari1:25.4001:25.157+2.724
121Victoria DesaiFerrari1:25.1861:25.312+2.753
1357Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes1:25.5621:25.311+2.263
1460Ritomo MiyataSauber-Toyota1:25.3991:25.762+2.966
1570Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1:25.6311:25.870+3.198
1655Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:26.0771:26.325+3.644
1726Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:26.1471:27.155+3.714
1829Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:26.3211:26.320+3.887
1933Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1:26.4801:27.176+4.047
204Robin FrijnsDawson-Mercedes1:26.6421:26.917+4.209
2195Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1:27.3571:27.613+4.924
2281Malik ZidanLoonmotor-Judd1:27.8011:27.480+5.047
2380Raven RothAndretti-Ferrari1:27.5601:27.695+5.127
2498Colton HertaAndretti-Ferrari1:27.7591:28.016+5.326
2511Terry HawkinFAST-BMW1:29.1541:29.406+6.721
2621Théo PourchaireFAST-BMW1:29.5471:29.963+7.114


Traffic after his early stop was about the only challenge Sebastian Vettel faced on his way to his fifth win of the year.
The last race before the summer break had the chance to really add a twist to the narrative of this season. Instead, the Hungarian Grand Prix became a sign that the sport did indeed need a break.

In a somewhat dry affair, contact between Pascal Wehrlein and Lando Norris in turn 1 was what ended up deciding the race in Sebastian Vettel’s favour. While Norris managed to claw back within 2.7 seconds of the German, the fact that Norris’s fastest lap of the race was only 0.001 seconds faster than Seb’s showed that the German had things under control.

Behind the Caterham duo, the final podium spot went to Jules Bianchi, who had a very uneventful race himself. A late sprint by Robert Kubica to get within ten seconds was the only event of note.

If anything, retirements are a more interesting narrative: Charles Leclerc looked strong in the early part of the race, but another motor issue took the Sauber driver out. Only a few laps before the end of the race, fifth-placed Einar Ármannsson retired, ensuring both Toyotas would score points as they made their way past a very strong Roger Ibe near the end.


118Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd63:17.342410
247Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+2.62228
323Jules BianchiMRT-BMW+31.15156
488Robert KubicaROOKIE-Toyota+38.10216
539Sho TsuboiROOKIE-Toyota+54.20734
610Alessio LorandiFerrari+51.056113
720Kevin MagnussenToyota1 Lap72
894Pascal WehrleinToyota1 Lap81
929Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap18
1070Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Ferrari1 Lap15
1126Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1 Lap17
1233Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap19
1363George RussellMcEwan-Mercedes1 Lap10
1460Ritomo MiyataSauber-Toyota1 Lap14
1557Dean StonemanMcEwan-Mercedes1 Lap13
1681Malik ZidanLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap22
1795Beitske VisserLoonmotor-Judd1 Lap21
1880Raven RothAndretti-Ferrari1 Lap23
1955Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes2 Laps16
2098Colton HertaAndretti-Ferrari2 Laps24
2111Terry HawkinFAST-BMW2 Laps25
2256Einar ÁrmannssonMRT-BMWMotor5
2321Théo PourchaireFAST-BMW2 Laps26
Ret7Charles LeclercSauber-ToyotaOil Leak9
Ret4Robin FrijnsDawson-MercedesTransmission20
Ret1Victoria DesaiFerrariOil Leak12

Fastest Lap:

Lando Norris – 1:25.556

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Roger Ibe – amazing drive in the still-struggling RB18 would have deserved points.

Reject Of The Race:

Ritomo Miyata – looked very uncompetitive in comparison to his Sauber teammate.