Van Dycke Victorious in Pre-Q Photo Finish

Scuderia Belgio driver Gia Van Dycke claimed victory in the Pre-Qualifying race on Home Soil in the closest margin of victory in the short history of the GTR WC.

After qualifying fourth for the Race, the Belgian would become the main competition for Asim Adhikari in the late stages of the thirty minute sprint race at Spa-Francorchamps. The former F1RWRS driver would make her move on the Nepalese driver at the bus-stop chicane, but while the overtake wasn’t successful in the corner the Ferrari driver got a better exit out of the corner which lead to a drag race to the finish line. The official margin of victory over the Best In The World Lamborghini was 0.005 seconds.

Best In The World found themselves with a 1-2 after the first corner with Adhikari and Anita Horford, who started on the pole position, trading the lead a few times in the first five minutes before Adhikari finally took control of the race. Horford would find herself in the battle for the last points paying position with the Minarae Ferrari, Pulsar Corvette, and the part-time Winton Racing Chrysler Viper. While Horford dropped to fifth place in the battle, Leandro Moreira spun Nathan Scott after running over the curbing at La Source while both drivers tried to overtake the leading Lamborghini. The Brazilian would continue in third place on the road, but was given a fifteen second penalty for causing a avoidable collision giving the place to Horford. Nathan Scott would recover from the spin and finish seventh after the Moreira penalty with the Pulsar driver being classified twelfth.

Both part-time teams entering this race weekend using the Ferrari 575 GTC, Trueba Racing Team and Katayama Racing, finished inside the top 18 and will partake in the rest of the weekend. Notable cars not finishing in the top 18 were the Gulf Racing Saleen and the Aeroracing Engineering Ferrari driven by Andoni Garrido and Roy Mellows.

Race Results – After 14 Laps
154Gia Van DyckeBelgio32:37.52
2413Asim AdhikariBest In The World+0:00.01
3111Anita HorfordBest In The World+0:02.07
4558Sam WintonWinton+0:03.07
5396José Pablo MazzacaneKjellerup+0:04.00
6307Milan VukovicOnyx+0:09.72
7775Nathan ScottMinarae+0:11.02
84011Mattias KjellerupKjellerup+0:13.55
9129John MagnusAeroracing+0:15.47
101812Chiara RossiICE-3+0:16.04
119117Nikolas HirvonenGlobex Scorpio+0:16.69
1272Leandro MoreiraPulsar+0:17.07
137313Tom DouglasJLD+0:17.91
148020Kenji KatayamaKatayama+0:19.64
152410Jans ZeitnerTrueba+0:20.28
165115Quentin BispingEuromotor International+0:21.43
178721Diego Mauricio BatistutaJLD+0:21.98
181714Helena BoveriICE-3+0:22.68
194423Tarquin BeverlyWestburne+0:27.72
20822Federico NavarroFulcrum+0:28.40
21617Roland DavidsonGulf+0:29.04
229719Alexi MelvanovChris Short+0:29.78
231318Andoni GarridoAeroracing+0:30.16
245025Dawn GrangerEuromotor International+0:32.62
258124Fabian MüllerRhineSport+1:23.88

Fastest Lap: Car 7 (Pulsar Corvette) – Leandro Moreira – 2:17.311

Car 7 (Pulsar Corvette – Leandro Moreira) was given a 15 second penalty for causing a avoidable collision with Car 77 (Minarae Ferrari – Nathan Scott)