Davies’s Rapid Pace Continues, Scores Yas Pole Position

Rhys Davies goes back to back in the season opening fly-away races, as he scores the pole position for the 2020 Yas Supercar Festival.

The factory Ford driver was denied the overall victory last time out in Interlagos, Brazil and would not be denied pole position in Saturday’s qualifying session at the Yas Marina Circuit. After being sixth tenths clear of the field in Interlagos, Davies was nearly nine tenths clear of the field with only one car within one second of his fastest time in the twenty minute session. The one driver that was within one second of Davies drives the car that beat the former F1 and ARWS driver in the opening round. Ravenwest Motorsport owner and driver Nathan McKane will line up alongside Davies for the race on Sunday, after he and second driver Andrej Kremnicky were the main drivers to take the fight to CWG Team MacMillan at the Round of Brazil.

The first driver more than one second behind the pole time from Davies was Carson Speedworks driver Li Qi. The Chinese former F1 driver started alongside Davies at Interlagos and was only the second driver in the two minutes, four second barrier with McKane. Joining Qi on the second row is the Scuderia Italia Ferrari of Andrea Constantini, with Qi’s teammate Joey Alliot round out of the top five. The top eight qualifying positions were locked out by Manufacture’s Trophy entries, with the top five being joined by both of the Solvalou Lamborghinis and the second MacMillan Ford of Darren Older Jr.

Starting on pole for the Independent’s Trophy class is Laruindo Coehlo in his Best in The World Lamborghini in ninth overall. The Portuguese rookie gave the team it’s first class pole position in the series since Koyomi Setou led the way for the Independents at the the 2018 Round of Germany. It is a major boost after all the Independent Lamborghini teams struggled in the season opener. He is joined on the fifth row of the grid by class runner up from Interlagos in Darren Cardel.

The class winner from Interlagos, Lasse Tilkesson starts in the middle of the pack in the midst of the rest of the Manufacture’s Trophy entries. Frank Zimmer was unable to replicate his pace from Brazil and starts Sunday’s race on the ninth row of the grid. His teammate at Pagani in Amato Agostini evened up the qualifying battle by putting in the sixteenth fastest time of the session and will start alongside the Blokkmonsta driver. Tomorrow’s festivities will also see the race debut of debutante team PowerSport-Dunbarton, as Gabe Macena and Helena Rademacker will ride shotgun on the field for Sunday’s race.


Qualifying Results – Yas Supercar Festival

140MRhys DaviesMacMillan2:03.889
22MNathan McKaneRavenwest+0.881
364MLi QiCarson+1.086
428MAndrea ConstantiniScuderia Italia+1.294
563MJoey AlliotCarson+1.306
643MDarren Older Jr.MacMillan+1.502
703MEmma PescatoreSolvalou+1.662
801MChris WinterSolvalou+1.812
987ILaurindo CoehloBest In The World+1.914
1087IDarren CardelFerdinand United+2.110
1155IJoel MelroseTom Douglas+2.119
12550IPhil McCrackenCzechmate+2.123
1319IPeter OliverOliver+2.176
146MMatteo RossiProdrive AMR+2.213
1552ILasse TilkessonBlokkmonsta+2.303
1625MAmato AgostiniPagani+2.312
1788IHarrison WilkinsonLKM+2.418
1824MFrank ZimmerPagani+2.419
1927MEvgeny RestovScuderia Italia+2.437
2004IPaul TravesenLumenition RMR+2.724
2115IMelanie BourneBoutsen Ginion+2.726
22555IAntonio Reyna-SanchezTom Douglas+2.892
2342ISylvain FabronMinster+2.948
2444IHelena BertinelliEuromotor+3.154
25801IJans ZeitnerAMG+3.225
2614IGerald PereriaGP+3.479
2791ILuke Gilson-ClarkeOliver+3.520
2882IPaul JenkinsGlobex Scorpio+3.547
2911IKoyomi SetouBest In The World+3.870
3051IGabriel MacenaPowersport-Dunbarton+4.705