2012 F1RWRS Saxon Grand Prix

From Formula Rejects Wiki
Revision as of 18:34, 18 July 2013 by Matt121 (talk) (Standings after the race)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search
Flag of Saxony-Anhalt svg.png 2012 Saxon Grand Prix
Race 2 of 16 in the 2012 F1RWRS season
Date 1 April, 2012
Official Name III Saxon Grand Prix
Location Motorsport Arena Oschersleben, Oschersleben, Germany
Course Permanent racing facility
3.667 km (2.292 mi)
Distance 41 laps, 150.35 km (93.97 mi)
Weather Sunny
Pole Position
Driver Flag of Australia svg.png Rhys Davies Holden
Time 0:50.91
Fastest Lap
Driver Flag of Australia svg.png Rhys Davies Holden
Time 0:55.05
First Flag of the United Kingdom svg.png Pippa Mann AMR-DeLorean/Peel
Second Flag of Germany svg.png Kay Lon Kahama-Ford
Third Flag of Japan svg.png Hagane Shizuka MAN

The 2012 F1RWRS Saxon Grand Prix was the second race of the 2012 F1RWRS season and the third F1RWRS Saxon Grand Prix. The race was held at Oschersleben and was won by Pippa Mann - her first career win and Anglo-Manx Racing's first victory.

Race Report

Pre-qualifying and Aguri Suzuki Cup

Pre-qualifying, as always, was fiercely contested as Richie White missed out on the grid by 0.12 seconds. T. Hemo Goblin, Sammy Jones, rookie Tristan Jung and Hagane Shizuka won the four qualifying heats. Reigning champion Nathanael Spencer headed the list of notable drivers who were knocked out; Daniel Melrose, Chris Dagnall and Ashley Watkinson were also among the slowest thirteen drivers.

The second round of the Aguri Suzuki Cup saw a brilliant fight between Damon Cannon and Daniel Melrose with Cannon winning by 0.09 seconds. Cannon started dead last on the grid and his victory tied him with Melrose for first place in the championship.


Rhys Davies took his first career pole for HRT by 0.04 seconds to Pippa Mann's AMR. Jeroen Krautmeir and Gary Cameron qualified third and fourth, respectively, and Jari Kekkonen took a brilliant fifth place for ArrowTech. Pippa's brother Douglas Mann could only manage 18th while Tristan Jung qualified in twelfth in his second race.


Rhys Davies led the field off the line but Pippa Mann fell behind Krautmeir later on in the lap. Dave Simpson came up from seventh to fourth and Frank Zimmer fell back to twelfth. Davies quickly gave up his lead on Lap 2 after a mistake which let Krautmeir and Mann through. As per usual, a large pack began to form behind the leaders. Mann and Krautmeir held position through Lap 10 while the pack shuffled around. Simpson couldn't keep up his early pace and he fell back to ninth. On Lap 13, Pippa Mann lost second place to her teammate James Davies as the AMRs looked to secure a double-podium finish.

Mann briefly fell to third behind crowd favorite Kay Lon but took the spot back after lap. Meanwhile, her teammate took over the lead from Krautmeir on Lap 15. James Davies then went off on Lap 19, letting Jeroen back into the lead. Polesitter Rhys Davies entered into the fight by taking third from Mann while Davies retook the lead on Lap 20. By Lap 24, the order was Davies, Krautmeir, P. Mann, Shizuka and Rhys Davies. The remainder of the pack chased close behind.

Pippa Mann continued to battle with Krautmeir, as she has been doing for the entire race. Mann finally got past on Lap 30, just as the pit lane opened up. Shizuka, Jung, Martins and Roda all pitted. Krautmeir actually repassed Mann before the leaders all pitted on Lap 31. Jari Kekkonen then assumed the lead in the ArrowTech, the first time that an ArrowTech had led a grand prix. Kekkonen pitted on Lap 33 and resumed in eleventh. However, that was immaterial to Pippa Mann as the AMR pit crew put her ahead of James Davies. The pit stops had mixed up the order, leaving Shizuka and Lon in the other podium positions. Lon came close to passing Pippa Mann but the German was denied a win on his home soil as Pippa crossed the line in first.

Shizuka filled out the podium with Davies in fourth, Simpson in fifth and Gary Cameron in sixth. Kekkonen completed a great run for the ArrowTech team in seventh followed by James Davies who finished in a disappointing eighth place.

Standings after the race

  • Bold text indicates who still has a theoretical chance of becoming World Champion.
Drivers' Championship standings
Pos Driver Points
1 Flag of the United Kingdom svg.png Pippa Mann 18
2 Flag of the United Kingdom svg.png Darren Older Jr. 16
3 Flag of Germany svg.png Kay Lon 12
4 Flag of the United Kingdom svg.png James Davies 11
=5 Flag of Japan svg.png Hagane Shizuka 8
=5 Flag of Spain svg.png Phoenix McAllister 8
Constructors' Championship standings
Pos Constructor Points
1 Flag of the Isle of Man svg.png AMR-Peel-Ford 29
2 Flag of Spain svg.png CR-Ford 16
3 Flag of Japan svg.png Kamaha-Ford 12
=4 Flag of Spain svg.png Phoenix-Honda 8
=4 Flag of the Isle of Man svg.png MAN 8
  • Note: Only the top five positions are included for both sets of standings.
Previous race:
2012 Bavarian Grand Prix
Formula 1 Rejects World Race Series Championship
2012 Season
Next race:
2012 German Grand Prix
Previous race:
2011 Saxon Grand Prix
Saxon Grand Prix Next race: