Late Error by Bianchi Opens Up Title Battle


147Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:26.540
227Jules BianchiPrecision-Mercedes1:26.583
396Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes1:26.725
473Daniel MelroseRed Bull-Ferrari1:27.157
518Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:27.194
633Salvatore MiccoliFerrari1:27.238
764Dave CassidyFerrari1:27.271
855Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-Ferrari1:27.386
914Marcel Agyemang-BaduFAST-Mercedes1:27.460
107Charles LeclercFAST-Mercedes1:27.611
113Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-Ferrari1:27.926
126Artem MarkelovMansell-Mercedes1:27.930
1335Sergey SirotkinMansell-Mercedes1:27.964
141Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd1:28.072
1557Dean StonemanSauber-Judd1:28.080
1628Harrison NeweyRed Bull-Ferrari1:28.281
1794Pascal WehrleinCalinetic-Judd1:28.298
1839Sho TsuboiToyota1:28.400
1910Pierre GaslyDawson-Judd1:28.469
2037Kazuki NakajimaToyota1:28.681
2156Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-Judd1:28.715
2219Jordan DaviesTheodore-Ferrari1:28.871
2323Alexander AlbonDawson-Judd1:29.022
2498Bradley DagnallTheodore-Ferrari1:29.168


Charles Leclerc's error was just one of a few made in the final laps by F1's biggest stars.

Jules Bianchi had given up a significant amount of points but still arrived with a chance to secure the world title after F1’s long break full of revolution. He was looking to turn things in the right direction.

For the majority of the race, things looked just right, he had the race under control after passing pole-setter Lando Norris, who had ended Precision’s attempt at beating Red Bull Racing’s record of 13 consecutive pole positions.

Unfortunately, in the late part of the race, his worn tyres caused a missed brake point and a tragic retirement, leaving his teammate to cut down the point differential to a touchdown. A third place for Daniel Melrose means he’s also still in contention.

The two Caterham drivers wasted a good qualifying through an amateur error and a lack of emotional control respectively, whereas young, experienced drivers like Agyemang-Badu and Davies proved their mettle and took advantage of the late-race chaos.


196Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes56:37.29615
264Dave CassidyFerrari+20.87412
373Daniel MelroseRed Bull-Ferrari+25.48910
414Marcel Agyemang-BaduFAST-Mercedes+34.0208
547Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+54.0816
633Salvatore MiccoliFerrari+55.1375
76Artem MarkelovMansell-Mercedes+62.8874
835Sergey SirotkinMansell-Mercedes+76.5353
918Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd+77.313*2
1019Jordan DaviesTheodore-Ferrari1 Lap1
1139Shu TsuboiToyota1 Lap0
1228Harrison NeweyRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap0
1337Kazuki NakajimaToyota1 Lap0
1498Bradley DagnallTheodore-Ferrari1 Lap0
1556Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-JuddTransmission0
1627Jules BianchiPrecision-MercedesAccident0
DNF3Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-FerrariCollision0
DNF55Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-FerrariThrottle0
DNF57Dean StonemanSauber-JuddMotor0
DNF1Pastor MaldonadoSauber-JuddTransmission0
DNF7Charles LeclercFAST-MercedesAccident0
DNF23Alexander AlbonDawson-JuddMotor0
DNF94Pascal WehrleinCalinetic-JuddAccident0
DNF10Pierre GaslyDawson-JuddAccident0

* 30-second penalty for causing an avoidable accident

Fastest Lap:

Diego Álvarez Torrente – 1:28.580

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Marcel Agyemang-Badu – professional drive reminded the world why he’s the last driver to win a race for Ferrari.

Reject Of The Race:

Caterham’s drivers – wasting precious chances is not gonna help secure them P2 in the WCC.