Vettel Upsets Precision, Wins Hungarian Grand Prix


127Jules BianchiPrecision-Mercedes1:21.599
296Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes1:21.711
318Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:21.872
447Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:22.215
51Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd1:22.566
657Dean StonemanSauber-Judd1:22.655
733Salvatore MiccoliFerrari1:22.824
87Charles LeclercFAST-Mercedes1:22.953
973Daniel MelroseRed Bull-Ferrari1:22.953
1035Sergey SirotkinMansell-Mercedes1:22.963
1164Dave CassidyFerrari1:23.270
126Artem MarkelovMansell-Mercedes1:23.360
1314Marcel Agyemang-BaduFAST-Mercedes1:23.417
143Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-Ferrari1:23.460
1599Mike RockenfellerRed Bull-Ferrari1:23.499
1655Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-Ferrari1:23.590
1711James James DaviesToyota1:23.742
1837Kazuki NakajimaToyota1:24.021
1994Pascal WehrleinCalinetic-Judd1:24.071
2056Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-Judd1:24.158
2110Pierre GaslyDawson-Judd1:24.208
2219Jordan DaviesTheodore-Ferrari1:24.225
2323Alexander AlbonDawson-Judd1:24.591
2498Bradley DagnallTheodore-Ferrari1:24.750


The Hungaroring is a venue that values aerodynamics and grip and also allows a driver to leave their mark on the asphalt, giving himself a chance to win, even if the equipment is not quite up to a winning standard.

Sebastian Vettel was confident heading into the weekend and showed why in the qualifying session. Despite again being unable to beat the Precision cars, he proved close enough for audiences to expect a duel on Sunday.

In the end, the expectations were proven right: both Caterhams managed to sneak past the sole Precision left after Bianchi’s retirement and with Norris holding off DAT, Vettel ran away to win by 10 seconds.

Behind them, Charles Leclerc once more proved why he has a bright future in F1 by finishing in a secure fourth position. Marvin Kirchhöfer returned to the points, continuing his impressive sophomore season.


118Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd61:08.45715
247Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+10.55712
396Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes+11.22410
47Charles LeclercFAST-Mercedes+29.8768
51Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd+37.8896
673Daniel MelroseRed Bull-Ferrari+43.3665
735Sergey SirotkinMansell-Mercedes+44.0844
857Dean StonemanSauber-Judd+49.4653
93Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-Ferrari+61.4762
1064Dave CassidyFerrari+63.4881
1199Mike RockenfellerRed Bull-Ferrari+64.6250
1210Pierre GaslyDawson-Judd+82.3600
1356Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-Judd1 Lap0
1494Pascal WehrleinCalinetic-Judd1 Lap0
1519Jordan DaviesTheodore-Ferrari1 Lap0
1623Alexander AlbonDawson-Judd1 Lap0
1737Kazuki NakajimaToyota1 Lap0
1898Bradley DagnallTheodore-Ferrari1 Lap0
1933Salvatore MiccoliFerrariThrottle0
DNF11James James DaviesToyotaSuspension0
DNF27Jules BianchiPrecision-MercedesLoose Wheel0
DNF6Artem MarkelovMansell-MercedesOil Leak0
DNF14Marcel Agyemang-BaduFAST-MercedesTransmission0
DNF55Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-FerrariCollision0

Fastest Lap:

Diego Álvarez Torrente – 1:24.042

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Caterham-Judd – this weekend, they were in the position they actually expect themselves to be.

Reject Of The Race:

Santiago Urrutia – early crash ruined his chances.