Torrente scores win while Bianchi makes mistake at Imola


196Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes1:23.841
227Jules BianchiPrecision-Mercedes1:23.969
31Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd1:24.482
447Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:24.634
57Charles LeclercFAST-Mercedes1:24.663
633Salvatore MiccoliFerrari1:24.675
764Dave CassidyFerrari1:24.703
818Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:24.757
957Dean StonemanSauber-Judd1:25.022
1014Marcel Agyemang-BaduFAST-Mercedes1:25.326
1173Daniel MelroseRed Bull-Ferrari1:25.357
1256Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-Judd1:25.447
1399Mike RockenfellerRed Bull-Ferrari1:25.476
146Artem MarkelovMansell-Mercedes1:24.982*
1555Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-Ferrari1:25.559
163Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-Ferrari1:25.632
1794Pascal WehrleinCalinetic-Judd1:25.716
1835Sergey SirotkinMansell-Mercedes1:26.064
1911James James DaviesToyota1:26.218
2037Kazuki NakajimaToyota1:26.526
2119Jordan DaviesTheodore-Ferrari1:26.771
2223Alexander AlbonDawson-Judd1:27.072
2398Bradley DagnallTheodore-Ferrari1:27.160
2410Pierre GaslyDawson-Judd1:27.227

*five-place grid penalty for exceeding the maximum allowed number of gearboxes in a season


With the Italian Grand Prix name returning to F1 after a 3-year long legal battle under the night sky at Imola, few would have predicted against the qualifying result, which again saw Precision lock the front row out easily, Torrente this time topping championship-leading Bianchi for pole position.

Torrente led the race from start to finish – a cool, calculated drive that didn’t look remotely difficult for him. Teammate Bianchi however looked uncomfortable, as despite setting fastest lap he could not pass Torrente, before rather embarrassingly hitting the wall at the Tamburello chicane and ending his afternoon. Torrente would win from 16 seconds over 2nd-placed Pastor Maldonado, who again managed to be competitive in his Sauber, ahead of 3rd-placed Sebastian Vettel.

Dave Cassidy split the Caterhams in 4th, with the 2nd Sauber of Dean Stoneman in 6th and Red Bull’s Daniel Melrose in 7th, being the last car to finish on the lead lap. Sirotkin, Rockenfeller and Urrutia rounded around the points scoring positions, with both Dawsons being classified behind Artem Markelov, whose brakes failed on the last lap, showing a poor race by the British team.


196Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes55:03.48915
21Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd+16.21012
318Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd+31.48710
464Dave CassidyFerrari+41.8798
547Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+56.4776
657Dean StonemanSauber-Judd+1:07.7955
773Daniel MelroseRed Bull-Ferrari+1:14.9724
835Sergey SirotkinMansell-Mercedes1 Lap3
999Mike RockenfellerRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap2
1055Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-Ferrari1 Lap1
1194Pascal WehrleinCalinetic-Judd1 Lap0
123Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-Ferrari1 Lap0
1356Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-Judd1 Lap0
1411James James DaviesToyota1 Lap0
1598Bradley DagnallTheodore-Ferrari1 Lap0
166Artem MarkelovMansell-MercedesBrakes0
1710Pierre GaslyDawson-Judd2 Laps0
1823Alexander AlbonDawson-Judd2 Laps0
DNF7Charles LeclercFAST-MercedesAccident0
DNF19Jordan DaviesTheodore-FerrariSuspension0
DNF33Salvatore MiccoliFerrariSpun Off0
DNF14Marcel Agyemang-BaduFAST-MercedesSuspension0
DNF27Jules BianchiPrecision-MercedesAccident0
DNF37Kazuki NakajimaToyotaMotor0

Fastest Lap:

Jules Bianchi– 1:26.575

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Pastor Maldonado – again managed to show some semblance of his championship-winning form last year.

Reject Of The Race:

Jules Bianchi – was nervous against Torrente in the race which was compounded by crashing out embarrassingly.