Precision Inherits 1-2 After Vettel’s Retirement


133Salvatore MiccoliFerrari2:08.853
218Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd2:08.891
327Jules BianchiPrecision-Mercedes2:08.972
496Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes2:09.097
573Daniel MelroseRed Bull-Ferrari2:09.135
699Mike RockenfellerRed Bull-Ferrari2:09.251
76Artem MarkelovMansell-Mercedes2:09.341
811James James DaviesToyota2:09.462
97Charles LeclercFAST-Mercedes2:09.499
103Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-Ferrari2:09.785
1157Dean StonemanSauber-Judd2:09.856
1247Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd2:09.859
131Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd2:10.022
1455Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-Ferrari2:10.082
1522Kazuki NakajimaToyota2:10.098
1614Marcel Agyemang-BaduFAST-Mercedes2:10.298
1764Dave CassidyFerrari2:09.303*
1894Pascal WehrleinCalinetic-Judd2:11.025
1910Pierre GaslyDawson-Judd2:11.149
2019Jordan DaviesTheodore-Ferrari2:11.150
2135Sergey SirotkinMansell-Mercedes2:09.720*
2256Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-Judd2:11.437
2323Alexander AlbonDawson-Judd2:11.691
2498Bradley DagnallTheodore-Ferrari2:11.873

* given ten-place grid penalty for causing an avoidable accident


HSebastian Vettel controlled the Finnish Grand Prix until his retirement due to technical problems.

The Finnish Grand Prix is arguably one of the most challenging races in the sport, over seven kilometers of street circuit madness. This provides a challenge to man and machine and today, the machine failed quite often.

This was not on Sebastian Vettel’s mind, who took control of the race at the start and managed it very wisely. However, his Judd fuel cell motor did disagree with the idea of him winning his first race of 2020, causing a retirement with only a handful of laps to go.

His misfortunate is Precision’s fortune, they inherit a 1-2 victory and extended their grip on the World Constructors’ Championship. Any team that wants to challenge them will need to find performance and reliability quick.

Behind them, other drivers profited from the reliability woes of the big teams: Dean Stoneman picks up a fourth place, giving Sauber a back-to-back double points finish; Pascal Wehrlein and James James Davies were rewarded for a thrilling fight by being flushed up the order as well.


196Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes57:21.32815
227Jules BianchiPrecision-Mercedes+7.36412
36Artem MarkelovMansell-Mercedes+16.02110
457Dean StonemanSauber-Judd+24.5158
599Mike RockenfellerRed Bull-Ferrari+27.0786
647Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+36.0615
71Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd+41.3184
83Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-Ferrari+50.1203
911James James DaviesToyota+54.5982
1094Pascal WehrleinCalinetic-Judd+55.3641
1119Jordan DaviesTheodore-Ferrari+65.1640
1210Pierre GaslyDawson-Judd+68.5920
1322Kazuki NakajimaToyota+81.9090
1423Alexander AlbonDawson-Judd+82.8840
1556Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-Judd+85.5280
1664Dave CassidyFerrariThrottle0
177Charles LeclercFAST-MercedesTransmission0
DNF98Bradley DagnallTheodore-FerrariTransmission0
DNF18Sebastian VettelCaterham-JuddMotor0
DNF33Salvatore MiccoliFerrariMotor0
DNF73Daniel MelroseRed Bull-FerrariElectrical0
DNF14Marcel Agyemang-BaduFAST-MercedesAccident0
DNF55Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-FerrariMotor0
DNF35Sergey SirotkinMansell-MercedesMotor0

Fastest Lap:

Jules Bianchi – 2:09.999

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Dean Stoneman – his efficient driving shows its value yet again with a key fourth place.

Reject Of The Race:

Marcel Agyemang-Badu – on a day with many retirements, throwing a shot at points away by being overeager in battle is a bad idea.