Motor Failure Decides Championship Fight On Second to Last Lap


196Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes1:57.686
273Daniel MelroseRed Bull-Ferrari1:58.357
318Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:58.668
427Jules BianchiPrecision-Mercedes1:58.695
53Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-Ferrari1:59.300
67Charles LeclercFAST-Mercedes1:59.441
755Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-Ferrari1:59.476
81Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd1:59.595
933Salvatore MiccoliFerrari1:59.695
106Artem MarkelovMansell-Mercedes1:59.795
1156Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-Judd2:00.381
1237Kazuki NakajimaToyota2:00.390
1357Dean StonemanSauber-Judd2:00.731
1447Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd2:00.835
1519Jordan DaviesTheodore-Ferrari2:01.163
1614Marcel Agyemang-BaduFAST-Mercedes2:01.379
1728Harrison NeweyRed Bull-Ferrari2:01.847
1810Pierre GaslyDawson-Judd1:58.972
1964Dave CassidyFerrari1:59.401
2039Sho TsuboiToyota1:59.435
2135Sergey SirotkinMansell-Mercedes1:59.604
2294Pascal WehrleinCalinetic-Judd1:59.684
2398Bradley DagnallTheodore-Ferrari1:59.780
2423Alexander AlbonDawson-Judd1:59.950


A technical failure at the worst moment sealed Jules Bianchi's fate in the race for the 2020 title.

The season finale of the 2020 season was meant to be Mercedes’s showcase of how they and Precision Motorsport had controlled this season, securing their fourth Constructors’ Championship as engine supplier in this millennium and their first since 2015. Even with the copious amount of rain dropping this weekend, they had fun.

Obviously, the Drivers Championship remained undecided and thus, it needed to be settled between the Precision drivers. Torrente knew his only chance was to push from the start and thus he dominated, but it looked all for naught until Jules Bianchi’s motor exploded, in an event some would call “El Nuevo Milagro de Shanghai”.

With Torrente winning his first championship and the DHL Fastest Lap Trophy, other stories were left a bit underappreciated. The battle for 4th in both championships was decided, with Vettel clearly securing the position and Sauber and BR Mansell not doing enough to steal the position from Red Bull, even with both teams scoring lots of points.

Drivers still looking for a seat in 2021 had their chance to impress or the risk of not doing so, which affected a number of drivers, e.g. Salvatore Miccoli, who wasted a major chance to put one over on Dave Cassidy, or Sergey Sirotkin, who made his case for his continued stay in F1 by mastering the wet conditions and coming home in sixth.


196Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes67:09.27015
218Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd+47.15212
37Charles LeclercFAST-Mercedes+65.70910
41Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd+72.6968
556Einar ÁrmannssonCalinetic-Judd+88.8186
635Sergey SirotkinMansell-Mercedes+91.2125
747Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+96.5274
864Dave CassidyFerrari+108.8773
93Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-Ferrari+109.8972
1014Marcel Agyemang-BaduFAST-Mercedes+110.5901
1155Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-Ferrari+112.4310
1273Daniel MelroseRed Bull-FerrariMotor0
1333Salvatore MiccoliFerrari1 Lap0
1419Jordan DaviesTheodore-Ferrari1 Lap0
1537Kazuki NakajimaToyota1 Lap0
1628Harrison NeweyRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap0
1794Pascal WehrleinCalinetic-Judd1 Lap0
1857Dean StonemanSauber-Judd1 Lap0
1939Shu TsuboiToyota1 Lap0
2098Bradley DagnallTheodore-Ferrari1 Lap0
2127Jules BianchiPrecision-MercedesMotor0
DNF10Pierre GaslyDawson-JuddAccident0
DNF6Artem MarkelovMansell-MercedesMotor0
DNF23Alexander AlbonDawson-JuddPuncture0

Fastest Lap:

Diego Álvarez Torrente – 1:55.428

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Einar Ármannsson – he mastered the rain and secured Calinetic’s 10th place in the WCC.

Reject Of The Race:

Mercedes-Benz – a late motor failure ending their “lap of honour” ruins the PR effect.