McLaren Dominate in Monza as Ferrari Fails in Home Race

127Ayrton SennaFerrari1:26:067
22Jeremy-Etienne VoecklerMcLaren-Honda1:26:108
31Gerhard BergerMcLaren-Honda1:26:622
428Alain ProstFerrari1:26:716
55Emerson FittipaldiWilliams-Honda1:28:480
617Brendon CassidyArrows-Zakspeed1:29:045
718Chris DagnallArrows-Zakspeed1:29:081
86Kazuki FushidaWilliams-Honda1:29:237
99Alessandro NanniniZakspeed1:29:530
1010Valentino NicchiZakspeed1:29:612
113Martin BrundleTyrrell-Ford1:30:493
1226Riccardo PatreseLigier-Judd1:31:097
134Jonathan PalmerTyrrell-Ford1:31:260
1414Philippe StreiffAGS-Ford1:31:459
1525Rene ArnouxLigier-Judd1:31:541
1621Stefano ModenaOsella1:31:781
1723Pierluigi MartiniMinardi-Ford1:31:826
1811Guillaume GauthierLotus-Ford1:32:055
1915Alex CaffiAGS-Ford1:32:146
2020Michele AlboretoBenetton-Ford1:32:153
2124Frederic-Maxime VoecklerMinardi-Ford1:32:230
2219Thierry BoutsenBenetton-Ford1:32:380
2320Nicola LariniOsella1:32:381
2429Harvey JonesLola-Ford1:32:580
2512Derek WarwickLotus-Ford1:32:951
2630Isabella NorikoLola-Ford1:33:439
DNQ31Roberto MorenoColoni-Ford1:33:509
DNQ32Gabriele TarquiniColoni-Ford1:33:630
McLaren dominated in the Prancing Horse house.

McLaren dominated in the Prancing Horse house.

Coming into Monza, it seemed pretty one-sided who was going to win the race. Yet, as the race finished, the winner needs to be seen to be believed; Gerhard Berger took the win, following mistakes made by Jeremy-Etienne Voeckler in the last few couple of laps.

Ferrari had a terrible race; first, Senna crashed and had to pit for a new front wing. Later, Prost retired with a transmission problem. Then to add insult to injury, Senna crashed again, this time with permanent damage to his car.

It was all left to McLaren to take the 1-2. But, in the last couple of laps, Jeremy-Etienne Voeckler did a lazy spin, and he only recovered in 5th. This left Gerhard Berger to take the win at Monza, followed by a calm and fast drive by Brendon Cassidy, with a surprising Martin Brundle completing the podium, helped by the power of Ford’s work unit, the GBA.

Nicchi was left to take a fantastic 4th place, and Gauthier pushed a underpowered car into a fantastic 6th, with the Osella of Nicola Larini also making a surprise 7th place.


11Gerhard BergerMcLaren-Honda1h 22m 02.045
217Brendon CassidyArrows-Zakspeed-1 Lap
33Martin BrundleTyrrell-Ford-1 Lap
410Valentino NicchiZakspeed-1 Lap
52Jeremy-Etienne VoecklerMcLaren-Honda-2 Laps
611Guillaume GauthierLotus-Ford-2 Laps
721Nicola LariniOsella-2 Laps
814Philippe StreiffAGS-Ford-3 Laps
918Chris DagnallArrows-Zakspeed-3 Laps
1024Frederic-Maxime VoecklerMinardi-Ford-3 Laps
1115Alex CaffiAGS-Ford-3 Laps
1229Harvey JonesLola-Ford-3 Laps
136Kazuki FushidaWilliams-Honda-4 Laps
1423Pierluigi MartiniMinardi-Ford-4 Laps
1526Riccardo PatreseLigier-Judd-4 Laps
1612Derek WarwickLotus-Ford-4 Laps
1730Isabella NorikoLola-Ford-4 Laps
184Jonathan PalmerTyrrell-Ford-5 Laps
1927Ayrton SennaFerrariDidn't Finish
2020Michele AlboretoBenetton-FordTransmission
2125Rene ArnouxLigier-JuddOil Leak
2228Alain ProstFerrariTransmission
2319Thierry BoutsenBenetton-FordDidn't Finish
2422Stefano ModenaOsellaElectrical
259Alessandro NanniniZakspeedDidn't Finish
265Emerson FittipaldiWilliams-HondaDidn't Finish


Fastest Lap: Gerhard Berger, 1:28:799


Infinite Improbability Drive of the Race – Guillaume Gauthier, pushing a underpowered car into the points.


Reject of the Race – Ferrari, totally embarassing display in home country.