Markelov Dominates Exciting Argentine Grand Prix


16Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-Toyota1:13.2821:13.025
264Dave CassidyFerrari1:13.6141:13.426+0.401
326Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari1:13.6811:13.500+0.475
418Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:13.7241:13.543+0.642
547Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd1:13.5881:13.700+0.763
629Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari1:13.6971:13.684+0.859
723Alexander AlbonFerrari1:13.8061:13.705+0.880
833Max VerstappenRed Bull-Ferrari1:13.8521:26.350+0.948
931Esteban OconFAST-Mercedes1:13.9751:26.775+0.950
1039Sho TsuboiBR Mansell-Toyota1:13.9201:13.838+1.013
117Charles LeclercFAST-Mercedes1:13.8951:14.186+1.070
1257Dean StonemanPrecision-Mercedes1:14.3151:13.957+1.132
1394Pascal WehrleinPrecision-Mercedes1:14.005</b<1:14.157+1.180
1470Sérgio Sette CâmaraWilliams-Ferrari1:14.7511:14.242+1.417
1577Valtteri BottasToyota1:14.6331:14.550+1.525
1613Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd1:14.7401:15.024+1.715
1784Jack AitkenSauber-Judd1:15.2231:14.990+1.965
1837Kazuki NakajimaToyota1:15.3791:15.094+2.069
1973Daniel MelroseCalinetic-Judd1:15.7781:15.597+2.572
2023Jules BianchiCalinetic-Judd1:15.7741:15.641+2.616
2155Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-Mercedes1:16.3491:16.002+2.977
224Robin FrijnsLoonmotor-Judd1:16.2111:16.285+3.186
2399Antonio GiovinazziDawson-Mercedes1:16.5141:16.317+3.292
2498Bradley DagnallLoonmotor-Judd1:16.7111:16.494+3.469


Outside of the dominant Artem Markelov, the rest of the point scorers fought a close and exciting battle.

Formula One’s sole appearance in South America came at the Autódromo Roberto José Mouras which saw the closest Formula One finish last season and whilst that did not happen, the event still was very exciting.

Artem Markelov dominated both qualifying sessions and ran away with the victory, taking his second career win and the first for a Toyota PU customer. With Sho Tsuboi fighting his way up to second from tenth on the grid, it was BR Mansell’s first 1-2.

That journey up the order was hard, though. Esteban Ocon, Dean Stoneman and Roger Ibe all were major podium contenders. Ibe in particular thrilled fans with a late charge after a relatively late tyre stop.

Caterham struggled last year and it went no better this time, their drivers threw out proper rules of engagement and fought each other to the bone. Charles Leclerc was another driver who went over the line, earning himself Ferrari’s ire by crashing into Albon.


16Artem MarkelovBR Mansell-Toyota58:16.12515
239Sho TsuboiMansell-Mercedes+35.51212
314Esteban OconFAST-Mercedes+38.23510
457Dean StonemanPrecision-Mercedes+40.2568
529Roger IbeRed Bull-Ferrari+41.3586
647Lando NorrisCaterham-Judd+44.6275
718Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd+44.6414
894Pascal WehrleinPrecision-Mercedes+48.2783
970Sérgio Sette CâmaraWilliams-Ferrari+52.4362
1026Robert ShwartzmanWilliams-Ferrari+65.2631
117Charles LeclercFAST-Mercedes+100.073*0
1285Jack AitkenSauber-Judd1 Lap0
1323Jules BianchiCalinetic-Judd1 Lap0
1499Antonio GiovinazziDawson-Judd1 Lap0
1598Bradley DagnallLoonmotor-Judd2 Laps0
DNF37Kazuki NakajimaToyotaMotor0
DNF64Dave CassidyFerrariTransmission0
DNF19Robin FrijnsLoonmotor-JuddAccident0
DNF73Daniel MelroseCalinetic-JuddAccident0
DNF13Pastor MaldonadoSauber-JuddSuspension0
DNF33Max VerstappenRed Bull-FerrariMotor0
DNF55Carlos Sainz, Jr.Dawson-MercedesMotor0
DNF77Valtteri BottasToyotaAccident0
DNF23Alexander AlbonFerrariCollision0

* 30-second penalty for causing an avoidable accident

Fastest Lap:

Robert Shwartzman – 1:17.593

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Dean Stoneman – P4 in a Precision that clearly was not strong enough to get it is amazing.

Reject Of The Race:

Charles Leclerc – trying a stupid move earns you a stupid result, it is a shame his stupidity had to hurt Ferrari.