Clash of Supercars Sees Torrente Win Second Grand Prix


162Jules BianchiPrecision-Mercedes1:16.106
263Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes1:16.114
32Lewis HamiltonCaterham-Judd1:16.379
41Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd1:16.426
530Dean StonemanSauber-Judd1:16.464
634Valtteri BottasTheodore-Judd1:16.727
733Einar ÁrmannssonTheodore-Judd1:16.779
822Jordan DaviesHaas-Judd1:17.090
924Kevin MagnussenFAST-Mercedes1:17.092
1031Romain GrosjeanHolden1:17.399
1128Daniel MelroseFerrari1:17.485
1221Stoffel VandoorneHaas-Judd1:17.518
1329Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd1:16.279*
1432Alexander AlbonHolden1:17.591
1523Pierre GaslyFAST-Mercedes1:17.716
1666Pascal WehrleinRed Bull-Ferrari1:17.796
175Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-Mercedes1:17.923
1827Dave CassidyFerrari1:18.167
196Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-Mercedes1:18.614
2090Daniel RicciardoCalinetic-Holden1:18.657
21119Felix RosenqvistDawson-Holden1:18.876
2291Max VerstappenCalinetic-Holden1:18.888
2367Mike RockenfellerRed Bull-Ferrari1:18.927
24118Carlos Sainz JrDawson-Holden1:19.044
2555Artem MarkelovMansell-Mercedes1:19.215
2656Sergey SirotkinMansell-Mercedes1:19.485

* demoted ten places for causing an avoidable accident


Lewis Hamilton and Caterham were only in the rear mirrors of Precision today.


The second and most likely final San Marino Grand Prix was not under a good sign, as the threat of rain was present. Thankfully, the rain only came in minor drizzles that current F1 cars could manage without needing a tyre change and going off the track.

Precision-Mercedes did claim that they were rather good at dealing with the Imola circuit and that claim was proven in qualifying, where they took control of the front row. However, they lost out to Hamilton at the start and Bianchi was passed by Vettel as well.

At the second round of stops, however, Precision countered. Diego Torrente shadowed the race leader for the entire race and then took advantage of an audacious undercut to steal the lead, holding on to it despite having slighty worse-worn tyres than the Caterhams.

With Torrente taking his second win of the year and Vettel shrinking down the lead of Maldonado, who still fought back well from his grid penalty, the rest of 2019 looks to become another classic season, with three teams able to fight for wins and therefore the titles.


163Diego Álvarez TorrentePrecision-Mercedes45:17.53115
21Sebastian VettelCaterham-Judd+1.92012
362Jules BianchiPrecision-Mercedes+3.00410
42Lewis HamiltonCaterham-Judd+5.8198
530Dean StonemanSauber-Judd+20.4956
629Pastor MaldonadoSauber-Judd+21.2645
734Valtteri BottasTheodore-Judd+40.9534
833Einar ÁrmannssonTheodore-Judd+52.5143
931Romain GrosjeanHolden+60.9692
1021Stoffel VandoorneHaas-Judd+63.1771
1124Kevin MagnussenFAST-Mercedes+63.4140
1228Daniel MelroseFerrari+64.5080
1327Dave CassidyFerrari+69.9610
1490Daniel RicciardoCalinetic-Holden1 Lap0
1566Pascal WehrleinRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap0
165Marvin KirchhöferWilliams-Mercedes1 Lap0
176Santiago UrrutiaWilliams-Mercedes1 Lap0
1891Max VerstappenCalinetic-Holden1 Lap0
1932Alexander AlbonHolden1 Lap0
20118Carlos Sainz JrDawson-Holden1 Lap0
21119Felix RosenqvistDawson-Holden1 Lap0
2267Mike RockenfellerRed Bull-Ferrari1 Lap0
2355Artem MarkelovMansell-Mercedes1 Lap0
2422Jordan DaviesHaas-Judd1 Lap0
DNF23Pierre GaslyFAST-MercedesPuncture0
DNF56Sergey SirotkinMansell-MercedesEngine0

Fastest Lap:

Sebastian Vettel – 1:18.670

Infinite Improbability Drive Of The Race:

Daniel Ricciardo – the Australian was a major annoyance to other, better equipped, rivals.

Reject Of The Race:

Jordan Davies – yesterday’s hero became a major zero.